Skip to content

Hello challengers!

February 18, 2012

Wow! So, this blog still gets a ton of traffic even though I slowed down on blogging after my reading challenge and took a sabbatical after Isaac was born.

That’s awesome. I’m so happy that more people are embracing this reading challenge. It really is one of the best reading challenges ever — branching out and forcing myself to read books from around the world has forever changed how I look for books. It also opened up my eyes to how many amazing books never get translated into English — and I am hoping that as technology advances and books (especially on e-readers) become even more  accessible that we can get our hands on books that the Western culture might have missed out on!

If you want to know what I read in 2011, well, check out my Goodreads challenge profile. I read 50 books in 2011. I didn’t have any criteria. I just read! I read a lot of non-fiction last year. And a lot of fiction that I was pretty impressed with.

While 50 books is really quite sad next to the 90-something I finished in 2010, I will say: Two kids is far more draining than one. Like by a million. And I did do far more writing in 2011! I didn’t even touch some of my writing projects while I was on my Around the World quest. But I will say, with EXCITEMENT: I finished the rough draft of a pretty big writing project last December. It’s not great…yet. But it’s finished. And I’m really, really, really, really, happy. When I was doing this Around the World challenge, I didn’t have TIME to write (except for the blog, of course).

If you are looking for my 2011 suggestions, well, I shall oblige.

My favorite “MUST READS” of 2011: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot, The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman, Zeitoun by Dave Eggers.

And, well, since the last picture you got, Isaac was a few weeks old, here is a recent picture of my little family:

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Marisa Moreno permalink
    February 20, 2012 9:35 pm

    Cuties 🙂

Leave a Reply

