Skip to content

Book 75 of 80

November 29, 2010

Only five more books after this! If I finish this quickly (and I suspect I might — it’s another book under 150 pages!) then I’ll only have to read a book a week through the rest of the year! Oh. My. Goodness! I was hoping I could get down to a book a week through my crazy December…and I did it. I don’t know how…but I did it.

Now, if only I can squeeze in Margaret Atwood’s Year of the Flood for Book Club on Sunday too.

I decided that my best bet for Columbia would be to check out some more Gabriel Garcia Marquez. Marquez for Columbia seemed like a good choice. I’ve read One Hundred Years of Solitude and most of Love in the Time of Cholera (which I felt compelled to pick up after watching the movie Serendipity…which I readily admit isn’t a very good movie…but I have a total thing for John Cusack. I mean, sure, everyone has a John Cusask thing circa 1989; but I have like a here-and-now John Cusack thing. Also, I have this obsession with ONLY showing my students movies where I find one of the actors unbelievably attractive. I’m not kidding. We watch The Crucible (Daniel Day-Lewis = Irish hotness), Absence of Malice (Paul Newman = Timeless sexiness), Shattered Glass (Peter Sarsgaard  = Indie sexy). And in 2011 John Cusack is playing Poe in a movie version of The Raven. Which I’m sure will not be school-worthy, but it would fit with our Romanticism unit. (Look, when you’re watching these movies four times a day, there has to be something in it for me. Not gonna lie.))

Wow. Sidetracked.

So, that left me with several other Marquez options and I picked Chronicle of a Death Foretold. The book is set in the Sucre region of Columbia. It came highly recommended and the New York Times Book Review called it a “metaphysical murder mystery” which piqued my interest.

I’m sure I’ll be able to finish is quickly. Maybe even by tomorrow?? Matt won’t be home for a couple of hours…so, I think I settle in with it right now…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 6:25 am

    I am curious to know what you will think of this GGM book! Will wait until tomorrow (or until you finish it) before commenting.

  2. November 30, 2010 10:17 am

    Because I know you won’t think pedantry = dickishness: it’s a mistake to call him Marquez. Garcia is his last name and Marquez is his mother’s maiden name. Thus, Garcia Marquez.

Leave a Reply

