Skip to content

Confession…

August 30, 2010

…I was 10 pages into my book for Cambodia when we left for Idaho for Matt’s cousin’s wedding to a lovely Irish man. And I’m exactly 10 pages into my book for Cambodia now. The wedding was great. And bonus: There’s nothing like a road trip to Southern California to make a six hour jaunt up to the Palouse seem like a walk in the park.

We got back yesterday evening and…drumroll…I went back to work today! So, I feel like I should be forgiven for the lack of reading.

Anyway, going back to work is always hard. But it’s so much harder with a child. Today, Elliott stood at the window with an Eggo in his mouth and waved goodbye to me this morning. So, the whole way to work I kept thinking, “My child is going to be so sad today! He’ll miss his mama. I should be home.” Right. Matt sends me a picture an hour later of the two of them chillin’ at Starbucks. Then later he sends me a picture of Elliott dancing on the table to a Sesame Street bit about dancing. And then toward the end of my day…the two of them showed up to work and brought me flowers! (For my birthday…which I was trying to keep a secret! But then I hear over the PA system, “Will the BIRTHDAY GIRL Shelbi please come to the front office. She has visitors and a present!”) My birthday usually falls on the first or second day back to work after summer break. And I spend every year hoping no one remembers.

It’s not that I don’t like birthdays. I like getting presents. But I’m not crazy about the attention. And I’ve spent most of my adult life being a variety of different ages…so, I never remember who thinks I’m what age. (My darling friends Sarah and Marisa know the truth…despite the fact that I lied to them for an entire year about my age. It was like some big reality show reveal when I finally sat them down in Sarah’s apartment in Japan and said, “I have something to tell you.” I think they were both expecting me to say, “I was born with a penis.” So, the reality of my age seemed anti-climactic in hindsight.) I’m pretty sure I’m over lying about my age now…but maybe next year I’m going to start heading backwards.

Being at school — working on all those things that will make next week amazing for both me and the 180+ kiddos I’m about to meet — will occupy a lot of time this week. This will be my 7th start of the school year since my decision to embark on this teaching career. And I start every September the exact same way: Organized and excited. Yes, both of these things will slowly deteriorate sometime in the Spring. But I’m at the top of my game for most of September and October.

I hope a new resolution to watch only specific TV shows (30 Rock) on designated nights and utilizing the DVR for others (Mad Men), will allow for more reading during normally occupied hours. But give me a few days to adjust to this new work schedule before the actual reading posts pick up again. I WILL be reading…but it won’t be stuff you’ll want me to blog about.

Thanks for sticking with me readers! Even as the Around the World portion is slowing down…

Oh! But in QUICK book news. I finished Mockingjay. I liked it! But I had a REALLY good conversation with several people at the wedding about the ending. And…while they didn’t turn me into a Mockinjay hater…they gave me lots of good things to think about! Now that I’m back and settled, I’ll go and read reviews and see how many people agree with their assessment. Honestly, I think it’s hard to end a series…people love your characters and your story and no one has a specific way they want it to end, but everyone expects the writer to 100% cater to their desires and 100% get it right. When you’re writing that kind of series, your own creative control is totally dictated by what the fans want and expect. If you differ from that, even slightly, people feel betrayed. I don’t feel too badly for writers who find themselves in that situation — they’re the few, the proud, the multi-millionaires. Go cry about your disappointed fans to that monkey butler bringing you another mid-morning gin and tonic.

I kid. Kind of.

ps. I just realized that my darling Matthew made a monkey butler joke…complete with picture in this blog post. Of course, I’d like to think that since the monkey butler joke has been a running gag in my household that we somehow both own the blogging rights to it. However, he beat me to the punch by nearly four whole months…and this makes me appear like the hack. I don’t care. I’m too tired to think of anything better than Suzanne Collins laying on a floatie in an eternity pool with a monkey butler. Count it.

Bonus picture: Elliott at this most recent wedding. I can’t believe he’ll be two in a few months. He’s totally a little man!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Marisa permalink
    August 30, 2010 8:26 pm

    Well, Sarah and I both had read Middlesex 😉 I love you and I miss you! Happy Birthday! That is an adorable picture of Elliott.

    • August 30, 2010 8:36 pm

      Thank you my sweet friend!! I love you and miss you too. EVERY DAY. Especially days like today…because Matt’s working tonight and my birthday is lonely. I need you closer. Doesn’t yakiniku sound perfect right about now?

  2. August 31, 2010 4:46 pm

    I LOVED Middlesex…and I totally was thinking: exactly how old is Shelbi this year? 🙂
    Love you too…and you Marisa! ♥ Yakiniku at our old favorite place would be INSANE RAD right now…I watched Bourdain in Osaka last night and almost died wanting some takoyaki & okonomiyaki!!!

  3. Marisa permalink
    September 6, 2010 9:31 pm

    Gyuutomi!!! I’m guessing you two probably have access to better Japanese food than me 😦 Found any gems?

    • September 14, 2010 7:41 pm

      No actually. I mean…I think the track sushi place by my house is pretty yummy. There’s a super cool authentic place downtown, but it’s uber expensive. But there are private tatami rooms and everything. I would LOVE some yakiniku at our old place. That makes me soooo nostalgic!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

