Skip to content

Book 53 of 80

August 10, 2010

I just described this book as “Patricia-Cornwell-in-Laos” to my sister-in-law at dinner last night.

I think that’s suitable. Since the main character of this novel is a coroner. That’s probably where the similarities end. (Isn’t the main character in those books a medical examiner? Maybe I’m wrong.)

At any rate, I’m going to read The Coroner’s Lunch (Dr. Siri #1) by Colin Cotterill. You can clearly tell that Mr. Cotterill isn’t Laotian. Nope. He’s British. But he seems to have a healthy knowledge of Southeast Asia and set up an NGO that helped protect children. Then he quit that and worked ECPAT which is aimed at ending child sex trafficking/prostitution.

So, he’s a stand-up guy! Who writes these highly-rated little Laotian mystery novels. Intriguing and worth a shot, I think. Also, doesn’t that sound like the perfect plane book? Fast-moving mystery with strong character development and a fantastic sense of place? (I don’t actually know if it is all those things, but it promises to be.)

I’m off to hit that “to-do” list and I’m pleased to announce that Sesame Street begins in 4 minutes…which means I can take 10 minutes to shower/get dressed/scarf down breakfast. That’s the time it takes for Sesame Street to go through its opening puppet skit. After that, they have this cartoony thing called Abby’s Fairy School…which Elliott dislikes. He’ll hop off the couch when Abby’s Fairy School starts, turn off the TV, and say, “Muppets all done.” Look, my kid only likes puppets. Cartoons? Forget it. Which makes me think that for his birthday THIS might have to happen.

And that’s all I can afford to write today! But I’ll be blogging from the windy city in a few days. Here’s to hoping I can get some reading done! 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mome Rath permalink
    August 10, 2010 7:52 pm

    Nice choice. I first read this a couple years ago on jury duty, and enjoyed it immensely. Cotterill offers great descriptions of Laos, as well as a wry sense of humor regarding Communism. Hope you enjoy the book, and have fun in Chicago!

  2. August 10, 2010 10:09 pm

    Hey! Sorry to get back to you late. Been battling an awakening illness.

    Anyway, here are two Malaysian novels I’ve read and have really enjoyed:

    1) Shamini Flint’s “Inspector Singh Investigates: A Most Peculiar Malaysian Murder”
    http://www.amazon.com/Peculiar-Malaysian-Murder-Inspector-Investigates/dp/0749929758/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1281505785&sr=8-2
    It’s a detective story set in contemporary Malaysia.

    2) Tan Twan Eng’s “The Gift of Rain”
    http://www.amazon.com/Gift-Rain-Tan-Twan-Eng/dp/1602860742/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1281505868&sr=1-1
    A World War Two story about a young man torn between his Japanese aikido master and his homeland.

    Ones I haven’t read include Preeta Samasaran’s “Evening is the Whole Day”, Rani Manicka’s “The Rice Mother”, Chan Ling Yap’s “Sweet Offerings” and Shirley Geok-Lin Lim’s “Joss and Gold”. I would not really recommend Tash Aw’s “The Harmony Silk Factory”.

Leave a Reply

