Skip to content

Book 34 of 80

June 4, 2010

This book was an accident. Or, I should say, a pleasant surprise.

I was at Powell’s on Sunday and I was meandering around in the Gold Room when I stumbled upon an author I had researched way back when I was looking at Scandinavian books. He’s supposed to be the Swedish Master of the serial mystery novel (although it’s hard to compete with the internationally successful Larsson). Henning Mankell’s Wallander books are on my “If Only” list. They are supposed to be fun, gritty police procedurals and I love myself an engaging police procedural.

So, I was trying to find #1 in the series and I pulled Eye of the Leopard off the shelf to look at it and the back read: Hans Olofson arrives in ZAMBIA not long after independence, hoping to fulfill the missionary dream of his recently deceased friend. And I was so excited! I didn’t have a book for Zambia…but I didn’t know for sure if I could still get to Zambia or if I had passed it already. So, I grabbed the book, and sprinted past Matt shouting, “I’m going to the room with the maps. I need to find a map of Africa!” After a short flight of stairs and nearly running over a mother and her small child, I located a map, saw that Zambia shared a border with Zimbabwe and clutched the book closer. I could do it. I could make it work. And I could hold off on reading my ridiculous looking Madagascar book for a few more days…

My whole point in going to Powell’s was to try to find a book for Egypt (which I’m still missing…so…if anyone has a suggestion, I’m all ears!); instead I left with this book and Daphne du Marurier’s Rebecca.

So, it’s Zambia and the Eye of the Leopard now. (Jill, my mother-in-law, is headed to the real Zambia in July — I’ll have to settle for a fictional version for now.)

And (this book included) I need seven more books this month! The busiest month of the year and I need to do the most reading. Seven. SEVEN. I’ll be reading straight through graduation ceremonies, weddings, and vacations. If you see me and I’m NOT reading, nag me. But in my own defense — ahead of schedule or behind schedule…I’d like to celebrate that I have read 40 books since January. Not too shabby for a working mother with a toddler if I do say so myself. Although, my house is in shambles and I just took my car for its first oil change in a year and a half. So…no one’s perfect.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2010 12:50 pm

    I’m happy that you found Mankell’s book to read for Africa…
    After so many harrowing stories I think you should read a love story.
    The Map of Love – Ahdaf Soueif is one love story between an English woman and a Egytian man, some think this book should win the Man booker prize in 1999, it’s in the short list.

    see: http://ahdafsoueif.com/Books/the_map_of_love.htm

    Nobel Prize Laureate Naguib Mahfouz writes classic Egyptian novels. His Cairo Trilogy is most famous, but that would be 3 books!

    I really admire your perseverance to read a book about each country in Africa. Although it’s fun I wouldn’t have the discipline to follow through… 🙂

    Can’t wait for your Egpytian read. Egypt is the cradle of the Arabic civilisation, high calibre novelists in abundance.

Leave a Reply

