Skip to content

Book 32 of 80

May 28, 2010

This is another book I probably should have read by now, but haven’t. From Botswana, we are now headed to South Africa to check out Alan Paton’s classic Cry, the Beloved Country. The book appears at the top of every “Best African Literature” list. It’s taught in schools all over the country.

(My own copy was, ahem, “borrowed” from West Linn High School circa 1996. Look, I’ve already confessed to stealing a book here and there. But maybe I’ll need to curb this habit because I just had a dream last night that I tried to get my school’s library to sign my “End of the Year Check Out” sheet and they refused. The librarian told me that I had to forfeit my summer vacation due to “Crimes Against the Library.” Yikes. Good thing I don’t currently have in my possession books from our school’s library that aren’t actually checked out to me. *she says with a worried look, knowing that the librarians read this blog.*)

I feel like Cry, the Beloved Country is going to drain me. I went from a light, fun read to this heavy and emotionally challenging read. But I’m on a strict reading schedule. STRICT. I have post-it notes on the two different books I’m trying to read…each marked with where I need to be at in each book by the end of the day. When I reach one post-it note, I switch to another book. I failed yesterday at this experiment in post-it notes: I read an extra 20 pages of Catching Fire and 30 pages too few in Cry, the Beloved Country. Whatever, it’s not a science.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 31, 2010 9:41 pm

    I read this as a literature text in school when I was 16. I’m still not that crazy about it. It feels especially out of date in the post-Mandela world.

    Reading Nadine Gordimer books with South African whites trying to live ethically in the post-Mandela world – now, that’s pretty interesting.

Leave a Reply

