Skip to content

Book 30 of 80

May 18, 2010

Well, after a short break, I’m venturing back into magical realism. I think my appreciation for magical realism depends on my mood. This particular book is narrated by a chameleon. An actual chameleon. Well, no, not an actual chameleon, a literary chameleon…but you get the picture. (Or is it a gecko? Are they the same thing?) Before he was a gecko/chameleon, he was a man. I’m not sure if the reader is supposed to know what man he was before he was a reptile — I happen to know…but I’ll refrain from posting until I learn if it is a spoiler or not. (Conducting research about the books I want to read often leads me to discovering spoilers. I was giddy that I didn’t spoil The Poisonwood Bible for myself. I’m not usually a surprise-girl.)

The book takes place in Angola and was written by Angolan writer José Eduardo Agualusa; it is translated from Portuguese.

I don’t know too much about the book except that the narrator’s name is Eulálio and he lives with an albino man named Felix. And Felix’s job is selling memories and histories to people. At one point, one of his customers realizes that his fictitious past is a little too similar to reality.

There is a lot of reading on my plate right now: Book club this weekend (and I have a lot to read still!) and 10 more books by the end of June. I think I can, I think I can, I think I can!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

