Skip to content

Book 27 of 80

April 29, 2010

Eva over at A Striped Armchair checked out my blog and posted a link to her Travel by Books summary for 2009. Her list has internal links and everything!! And her maps are way cool.  But she’s like an uber-supremo-book-blogger and I’m a fledgling-book-blogger. 🙂 Like, I’d probably want her autograph or something. But I’m nerdy like that.

Anyway, I checked out her list for Africa and stumbled upon her review of Wife of the Gods. Since the book had popped up on my radar in two other places while searching for a book for Ghana, I decided that this sounded like an African murder mystery ala Raymond Chandler. And I’m exactly in the right mood for an engaging murder mystery. I have a few respites during Africa — away from the dark and depressing social commentaries, or away from classics designed to challenge my brain — and this is one of them.

Matt and I were sitting on the couch last night and I was reading the book jacket. I clutched the book to my chest and said, “A pot-smoking detective! Fetish priests!! I’m soooooo excited!!!!” Fortunately, Matt just high-fived me instead of giving his usual “you’re really pathetic” look — he had endured enough tears with God’s Bits of Wood and A Long Way Gone. He’s ready for a break too.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2010 7:17 am

    LOL I’m laughing hysterically at the conversation between you and your husband. 😀 AND at the idea of being a supremo-book-blogger! That’s so sweet, even if it’s not really true. 😉

    I hope you enjoy Wife of the Gods. It was definitely a refreshing change from the focus on most West African lit…in fact, I’m thinking of doing a post on how much more difficult it is to find ‘light’ reads outside of US/UK/Canada (and I guess to a lesser extent Europe). I don’t know if it’s because publishers only think readers will buy depressing/uber-literary stuff or what.

    • April 29, 2010 3:01 pm

      Haha! Well, I think you’re a supremo-book-blogger and I think a lot of people would agree!

      Yeah, I’m really looking forward to this one. I DO think most publishers think that more of the depressing literature is more marketable. What does that say about us as a human race? Well, they either think we like or whatever Oprah likes. 🙂

  2. Jill Sherman permalink
    April 29, 2010 8:15 am

    If this turns out to be as much fun as it sounds, I’d love to borrow it when you are done. You are my book guru – make me stretch my literary wings and out of my reading rut! I love that you do this and enjoy, so much, all the posts. Glad you got the high five!

Leave a Reply

