Skip to content

Book 24 of 80

April 11, 2010

It’s time to go to Morocco with Secret Son, a book by Laila Lalami — author of the acclaimed Hope and Other Dangerous Pursuits. Why this book and not that one? I’m not entirely sure. The premise of Secret Son sounds interesting and when I went to Powell’s the other day, they had it in hardback and autographed for half the cost of Hope and Other Dangerous Pursuits in paperback and NOT autographed. It’s not like the autograph means anything, but somehow it makes me happy. 

I think it’s time to admit that my geography skills were severely lacking prior to this reading challenge. And now I can honestly say I’m kicking some serious butt in Jeopardy when questions come up about geography. I’m looking at maps a lot now…really plotting out the routes…quizzing myself. Matt gave me a map of Europe quiz a week or so ago and I got a solid “A”. I think you really learn world geography in the 7th grade — and I didn’t attend the 7th grade. That’s what I’m going with anyway. 

So, don’t judge me when I tell you Matt and I had the following conversation.

Me: My book takes place in Casablanca. That’s in Morocco? Huh. 

Matt: You didn’t know that? Everyone knows that.

Me: Maybe I knew it? No. Probably not. If you asked me before right now, I don’t know where I would have guessed. Maybe France.

Matt: You thought it was in France??

Me: Nooo….I said I didn’t know

Matt: Haven’t you seen the movie Casablanca?

Me: Kinda.

Matt: Define kinda.

Me: No. I mean, I rented it. And then I spent the entire movie making out with my boyfriend.

Matt: Okay. Just think of how much smarter you’d be if you started doing reading challenges a long time ago instead of making out with stupid boys.**

Me: Agreed.

**Disclaimer: Matt didn’t really say this. But it’s my PSA for the day. So…high schoolers, if you’re reading this…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

