Skip to content

Book 23 out of 80

April 9, 2010

Well, my first book in Africa is the classic work The Stranger by Albert Camus. This book takes place in Algeria — it is the philosophical story of a man who murders another man on an Algerian beach. It is a book that deals with Camus’ theory of the absurd and seems like a book I should have read in college, but somehow I overlooked it.

Although, I did receive a deck of cards in my stocking one year for Christmas: 50 books you should read before you die. And this book was there too. So, I’m glad that my reading challenge is forcing me to finally Camus. (I re-read that sentence and realized I left out the word ‘read’. But then I thought about it some more and liked how it sounded; it made me smile. So, I’ve officially turned Camus into a verb. Deal with it.)

camus: (verb) The act of reading the works of Algerian writer Albert Camus.

Off to camus now…


5 Comments leave one →
  1. JoV permalink
    April 9, 2010 12:49 pm

    What a coincidence! I am currently Camusing too! (Camusing: Camus in present continuous tense). I picked up Exile, Kingdom and other stories and couldn’t get into it. So I’m giving Camus another shot with “Outsider” (not sure if it’s set in Algeria though), it’s sitting on my pile now.

    Hope I finally “Camus”.

  2. Toni permalink
    April 10, 2010 7:50 am

    Just for fun: What do Camus and the Blazers have in common? http://blogderudyfernandez.blogspot.com/2010/01/albert-camus-invented-andre-miller.html

  3. April 10, 2010 8:26 am

    “Such are the paradoxes of existential basketball.” HAHAHAHAHA.

    Seriously, does Rudy actually write that stuff? If so, I think he has the biggest vocabulary of anyone in the NBA. And I would like to marry him. Sorry Matt.

    • April 10, 2010 8:31 am

      No…not Rudy. Totally not. But I still want to marry him. For his hair. What can I say? I’m attracted to crazy-hair.

Leave a Reply

