Skip to content

Gym = Less time for reading…but NEEDED because of all the reading…

April 5, 2010

Yup. I owned this. Don't judge.

24-hour fitness has some new members! And by members I mean: Tentative exercisers who are hoping no one else in the gym is paying attention to our ineptitude and lack of fitness ability. You see…it has taken until age 30 to realize that I should probably exercise. And reading…while AMAZING…is a sedentary activity. Most of the things I love the most require very little physical exertion: Watching TV, writing, reading, online poker. If you count bar darts as a sport, then I’m a pro.

I’ve never been a very active person. It’s depressing. (I even had my mom write me a note to get out of of running the mile in gym class in high school. She got it signed by my doctor. It said something about large breasts and back pain. The male teacher scanned it and handed it back; he turned white. But I didn’t have to jog the mile! I occasionally run (no pun intended) into that teacher…he still avoids eye-contact with me.)

In fairness, I did go through an entire year of high school working out to VHS exercise tapes: Jane Fonda and Sweatin’ to the Oldies alternately. As a matter of fact, I still remember the little hand motions that go along to the song “Gimme Some Lovin'” as demonstrated by Richard Simmons. It took a lot to admit that to you all.

I kept wondering how I could read at the gym. Audio books are one way. But I’m a visual person…I like to see the words; I do okay with books on tape, but only in moderation. Plus, I don’t think I could do an audio book for a challenge book…I don’t know. So far alternating between HGTV, E!, and MTV (I’m a sucker for “16 and Pregnant”; I love to yell at those teenagers!) on the little TV attached to the machines was a nice way to pass the time and attempt to ignore the fact that my muscles were shrieking at me in anger. “What are you doing to us? Why do you hate us so much? You’ve never demanded that we work before!! BETRAYAL!” I do imagine them shrieking this in tiny little chipmunk voices. Does that make me strange?

Someone should let me know if he/she has had success with combining reading and gym-life.

In the meantime, I am not far from finishing Shadow of the Wind (I’m a big fan so far — really beautiful, dark, and intense).

And I’m going to spend some MUCH needed hours updating the Reading List page. Keep the ideas coming! I’ll add as many as I can and as soon as I can. (And please realize that I am totally forsaking a HUGE stack of essays that still need grading in order to add the gym and blog updating to my life. Deep breath. Deep breath.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

