Skip to content

Book 21 of 80

March 27, 2010

Wow, I am almost done with my European leg. Pretty exciting.

After a jaunt to the Netherlands, here we are in France.

Once upon a time, I thought I was French. My grandma’s maiden name was French and someone in Japan told me I looked French (whatever that means), so I figured, “Well, I’m probably French.” I spent close to 10 years spouting off that my family was from France. I knew I was Irish, so I just assumed I was French/Irish — 50/50. And you know what? I was pretty proud of my Frenchness. Even to the point where if someone mocked France, I’d pipe up with, “Hey! I’m French!” to make the mocker feel guilty for insulting my family.

Until one day, at a family dinner, I mentioned this French blood and my dad looked at me and said, “You’re not French at all. What are you talking about? You’re Irish and German. Where did you get that?” So, I’m not French. But it was kinda nice while it lasted…everyone is Irish and German…no one in America is fighting to be French. Oh well.

When planning my book for France, I realized that I wanted to read something fun and classic. That led me to The Scarlet Pimpernel — a book I had heard about from a few friends, but never picked up to read for myself. The book is set during the French Revolution. Of course, the French revolted against the aristocrats and sacrificed their heads to the guillotine.  With all those innocent people dying, who could save them? Enter the Scarlet Pimpernel – a disguised hero – determined to save lives and elude capture. Sounds like a great escapist adventure! 

And here is a clip from Looney Tunes to brighten your day:

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jill Sherman permalink
    March 28, 2010 11:38 am

    I so love your enthusiasm and the creativity you express for the books themselves but also for the country in which they take place. I enjoy your blogs so much and always smile when a new one pops up on my email. You are a gifted writer and person. Wow – and I get to share lives with you! What a blessing you are.

Leave a Reply

