Skip to content

Book 19 of 80

March 20, 2010

Alright, so here we go. Germany! The Book Thief. I already explained a little about this book in a previous post, so I’ll just say that I’m glad I’m able to add this book to my list. Not only will it please my students, but I feel like it’s a book I should read.

An interesting fact: While this book was touted as YA in the US and the UK, it was actually marketed toward adults in Zusak’s native Australia.

I gave my grandma this book for Christmas two years ago, and she loved it. I routinely give my Grandma books for Christmas. And sometimes I give her books that I have purchased for myself, have been sitting around on my bookshelf, and I haven’t read yet. I think of it as industrious gift giving. Don’t tell her. She doesn’t have internet, so I don’t think she’ll find out.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    March 20, 2010 1:45 pm

    I am so excited you’re reading this book! I loved it. I’ll have to check out “Einstein’s Dreams” too. I’m reading “The Post-Office Girl” right now based on your recommendation and I’m loving it! Halfway through…

    Also, I’d like to point out that I recommended this book to you in addition to your students, and wonder if it would’ve made a difference if I had driven down from Seattle to put the book in your hands as well… I guess that’s an alternate reality from your description of “Einstein’s Dreams” and we’ll never know. 🙂

    • March 20, 2010 4:08 pm

      I should have given you a blog shout-out too! You are right…I apologize for the oversight. I am soooo glad you are enjoying “The Post-office Girl.” It was a hidden gem and totally needs more recognition!

Leave a Reply

