Skip to content

My Book Club is better than your Book Club

March 1, 2010

Well, I can’t blame Elliott for my Kafka-fiasco. It would appear I left the book at school over the weekend. Since I’m in two different classrooms during the day and I use the English office as a retreat during my prep, I had three rooms to search — of course, it was in the last place I looked. Just to make me sweat.

At any rate, it wasn’t a book-free weekend though. We had our second meeting of Book Club and, as the title of this blog suggests, it was a fantastic evening. Our second book choice was Robert Goolrick’s A Reliable Wife. The majority of our group hated it — downright loathed each and every word. This would be my camp. I even hated Robert Goolrick’s author page…where I wanted to slap that smug, arrogant little pursed lip expression off his Kermit/John Denver looking face. The characters were shallow, lacking in believable motivation. The plot had promise, but ended up laughable and unconvincing. GOOLRICK HAD THREE PAGES WHERE HE STARTED EVERY SENTENCE WITH “SHE”!! On purpose? I wish I could say…he probably did it on purpose, but it just reads like an amateur.

Then, of course, there’s the sex. If Everything is Illuminated wins the award for the grossest sex scenes I’ve read, this book must win for just putting in sex scenes arbitrarily to fill space. Spoiler alert: Even when the guy is on his deathbed and covered in boils from Arsenic poisoning…they still have sex!! One member of our book club is pretty certain that the entire book was written to combat Goolrick’s own Catholic Demons – it could be his way to deal with a repressed childhood, filled with guilt and repression. Fair enough. Goolrick is repressed and had a crappy childhood. One thing is for certain: That didn’t make him a better writer.

Not everyone at Book Club hated this book. But love it or hate it, our discussions were lively, entertaining, and hilarious. (Come on, does your Book Club have a librarian with access to the OED online who could look up colloquialisms/euphemisms for sex and see if they were appropriate for 1907?) Also, does your Book Club host serve champagne with Hibiscus fruit in the bottom? I’m really empowered by having these fantastic women in my life — when I started this group, I was kinda worried about bringing together friends from all the different parts of my life: Work, family, church, high school friends, and more. But we work. This group works and it’s exciting. And when my sister-in-law and my friend from high school became Facebook friends with my co-workers over the weekend? That’s when I knew: We’ve stumbled upon something really fantastic.

I mean, what other group would pick a book for April that coincides with my Around the World challenge?? I love these women.

We’re reading Murakami next month!! MY FAVORITE! Stay tuned.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    March 10, 2010 8:45 pm

    I’m jealous of your book club and wish I were still living in the Portland area so I could join.

  2. March 13, 2010 8:56 pm

    hmph 😉

Leave a Reply

