Skip to content

Book 13 of 80

February 12, 2010

I started reading this riveting book last night. One thing is for certain: I’m not taking a break from the brutal nature of humans anytime soon.

I started James Michener’s book The Bridge at Andau — a non-fiction book about the Hungarian Revolution of 1956 which started after a student protest stormed a radio building in an effort to take back control of the broadcasts from the AVO (the Communist Secret Police). Michener, who was a prolific writer of historical fiction, was living near the border of Soviet occupied Hungary and Austria at the time of the revolution and had the opportunity to interview the refugees. That is where this book stems from.

This book is critically acclaimed and certainly Michener is known for his ability to tell a fascinating story. (Fun fact for the day: Before Rodgers and Hammerstein penned “I’m Gonna Wash That Man Right Outa my Hair” for South Pacific, Michener wrote the Pulitzer Prize winning book the musical was based on. I do love the song “Some Enchanted Evening.” I use to sing it to Matt in a deep and dramatic voice while prancing back and forth in front of the television while he played video games. Just a glimpse into what makes a marriage work folks.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    February 15, 2010 10:19 pm

    Sounds way too heavy for my tastes, but I hope you enjoy it. I finished “Bloodroot” tonight and thoroughly enjoyed it. It’s set in the Smoky Mountains of Tennessee if you want to read it for your journey later on… multi-generational story of a family from this area, told from various characters’ points of view. Really well contructed and interesting characters. Random House even managed to get it in a digital edition with minimal typos! A miracle!

    http://www.amazon.com/Bloodroot-Amy-Greene/dp/0307269868/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1266300988&sr=8-1

    • February 16, 2010 9:42 am

      Looks interesting! Maybe I’ll suggest it for Book Club. A Reliable Wife has been a bust I’m afraid. We meet in two weeks…but so far, I don’t think any of us liked it…

Leave a Reply

