Skip to content

Book 11 of 80

February 3, 2010

One month in. Ten books down. Seventy books left to go. Will Shelbi like any of them? Will a book capture her heart before time runs out?

Come on…read it with the movie trailer voice! Deep and gravelly…staccato. Those movie trailer guys can make anything sound exciting.

We’re headed to Albania. Let me hear a “whoop-whoop”! I have known very little about some of the countries I’ve read about. And so far, I know the least about Albania. I can find it on a map. So, point for me.

I’m going to read some Ismail Kadare. This guy appears on lists. He wins prizes. You know that 1001 books you should read before you die? Well, this is one of them. I’m going to read Spring Flowers, Spring Frost — which is also delving into the world of magical realism (and we know I haven’t had much luck with that). This was not the book by Kadare I wanted to read. But it was the only Kadare available at Powell’s. I did read the first 10 pages while waiting at the copier at school.(We started reading “Streetcar Named Desire” today with my juniors. The girl who wanted to read Blanche is AWESOME. She also sang the Chuck ‘E Cheese birthday song to one of my students today. Complete with a little dance. Don’t judge. Sometimes you need to sing songs from the a germ-infested video arcade in order to get the day going.)

The prose seems very accessible; so, even if I’m not 100% sold on the story involving the girl marrying a snake, I think I might like this book. Uh-oh. It’s totally like telling people what you wished for on your birthday. It’s not going to happen now.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Corbin Wescott permalink
    February 6, 2010 2:24 pm

    I’m going to record something for you… It’ll come soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

