Skip to content

Book 10 of 80

January 29, 2010

It was a hard choice for me between two books for Greece. I checked out both The Magus by John Fowles and Zorba the Greek by Nikos Kazantzakis at two different libraries. I really wanted to read The Greek for Love by James Chatto, but again, it did not exist at any library near me (and my recent purchases of Albania, Hungary, Italy, Portugal, Bosnia, and France necessitated that Greece = library). I contemplated just reading an anthology of Greek myths. That would be fun. And it would remind me of the Christmas of 1992 when I spent the entire time reading a book about Medusa. Don’t I sound like a fun child? But the library had a ridiculous hold on the (arguably) best Greek mythology book out there. So, whatever. 

After reading about both novels that were available and reading a few pages into each novel, I decided I didn’t think I could tackle the 600+ pages of The Magus; especially if it is just plain craziness. So, right, I chose the boisterous old Greek guy who wants to teach me a few things about what life is all about. A lot of people think Zorba the Greek is a classic — that it should be on the lists of top 100 books you should read before you die. 

If a 9.0 earthquake is about to strike off the coast of Oregon (thanks Willamette Week for assisting my paranoid personality), I guess I better get going and finish this thing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

