Skip to content

Book 8 of 80

January 23, 2010

From Ukraine to Romania — Transylvania. I have actually never read Dracula before and I’m excited to read it now. It’s one of those classics that you think you should probably read, but then never do. I’m familiar with the story through its various adaptations — film, stage plays, spoofs. 

Of course, we are in the midst of a major vampire-craze. Which is funny, because in my introduction to Stoker’s Dracula it says that vampire-lore was really scarce in literature for quite some time. Dracula actually came after Carmilla by about 25 years and those were the staples of the gothic vampire.

So, speaking of various adaptations, I must share with you a little gem from the movie Forgetting Sarah Marshall. I have a huge crush on Jason Segel. No, I really do. I don’t watch “How I Met Your Mother”, but I’m sure he’ll forgive me. I’ve loved him since Freaks and Geeks – and even loved his crazy boyfriend character on Undeclared. I even had a dream once where Matt was replaced by Jason. You know how that works…you know it’s Matt, but it looks like Jason? Dreams are funny things. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    January 23, 2010 6:00 pm

    I adore Jason Segel as well; you should really see him in ‘How I Met Your Mother’. Dave and I just finished Netflixing seasons 1-4 and really enjoyed it.

    I also have not read ‘Dracula’ so I’m looking forward to hearing what you think of it. I did read ‘The Historian’ but had mixed feelings about it.

    • January 23, 2010 8:52 pm

      I had mixed feelings about “The Historian” too. I felt like it could have been less meandering. But I did read the whole thing…and it was occasionally engaging. So far “Dracula” is really good…I’m hooked…

  2. McFaul permalink
    January 23, 2010 6:57 pm

    Can’t wait to see what you think of this!!!

    (And Graceling!!!)

    • January 23, 2010 8:50 pm

      I’m reading Graceling tonight. And Dracula. Matt’s gone again, so I can read more. BUT I should be grading my essays…and the lit circle tests…blah.

Leave a Reply

