Skip to content

Reading = No Pants

January 15, 2010

Today, I was sitting in the middle of my bedroom and the realization hit me: If I don’t find a pair of pants to wear NOW, I am going to have to take a day off of work. My choices were: Wear a pair of pants with a huge coffee stain, wear my jeans for the third time this week, don’t go to work.

I’m at work. So, I went with the coffee stain.

The whole no pants thing (skirts were out of the question…which was the first thing Matt suggested when I woke him up to tell him I couldn’t go to work — skirts require tights or shaved legs; I have neither of those things) is indicative of a larger problem: I am the queen of avoidance. Laundry and meal planning, grading papers, getting my oil changed, finishing the thank you notes for Elliott’s birthday and Christmas…all of those things need to be done and they are simply not as fun as reading, writing, or watching the new Project Runway.

A colleague asked me if this reading challenge was a form of escape for me. The question made me think: Is it? It might be just one more thing that helps me avoid all those little things that don’t seem as fun. But who doesn’t do that? I don’t believe that throwing myself into the book challenge is a sign of avoidance in general. I do think throwing myself into the book challenge is a clear sign that I have an obsessive personality. I mean, my kitchen table is a map of the world right now and I have sticky notes planning my path through Europe. And the other night I couldn’t sleep because I didn’t know if I could count Bel Canto as my book for Peru because it doesn’t actually have a setting, but it is based on the Lima Crisis; and what about Turkey — can I head there after Romania and then over to Greece? Or do I need to go up to Turkey after Egypt while I’m in the Middle East.

When things that like occupy your brain, who has time to do laundry?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill Sherman permalink
    January 15, 2010 3:55 pm

    NO – this is not avoidance! This is the stuff that feeds the soul – that separates us from the lower life forms – that keeps us sane. All that other stuff is just necessary (or not!) parts of living life – very mechanical. The creative, the books, the writing, the wine drinking, the being with friends – this is what makes us alive! So keep it up girl – (and she quietly climbed down off of her soap box and sheepishly blended back into the crowd.)

  2. January 21, 2010 10:41 pm

    My to-do list might as well be titled, “The top (whatever #) things I really really don’t want to do” It’s the things on that list that never get done.

Leave a Reply

