Skip to content

Reasons why Elliott will need therapy

January 11, 2010
tags: ,

So, I have a confession.

Someone sent Elliott birthday money in the mail. And I spent it on books.

I could give you lots of justifications for why it was perfectly acceptable for me to take the cash and buy books instead of opening up my child a savings account for college — or something noble like that. The fact remains that a family member of mine was generous and courteous enough to give my son money and I shamelessly stole it.

I didn’t even buy books for him. I bought Estonia and Ukraine. I was planning ahead.

At any rate, I was going to keep this whole thing a secret, but this is the conversation I had at dinner tonight with my mom.

Me: Have you read my blog yet?

Mom: No. [pause] I will though.

Me: Yeah, okay. Oh. By the way, _________ sent me money for Elliott’s birthday. Wasn’t that sweet?

Mom: [no beat] You spent it on books didn’t you?

Me: I didn’t even say anything.

Mom: You didn’t have to. I know you. You should blog about that. And it’s not like you need more books; you certainly don’t need to buy more…if you would just return those books to the library that you’ve had since college…

Me: [Blank stare]

So, mom, I’m blogging about stealing from Elliott. As soon as I open the boy a savings account, I promise to reimburse him. We’re gonna view the birthday money as a temporary loan. Am I the only parent who has done this? Come on people, fess up.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill Sherman permalink
    January 11, 2010 9:29 pm

    I laughed out loud! Knowing how much Elliott loves you, I am sure he is thrilled you spent the money on books! Somehow I think you will make it up to him over the years!

  2. Corbin Wescott permalink
    January 11, 2010 9:50 pm

    Or maybe you DID spend the money on Elliott… I mean, how many things have you purchased for ‘the future’ for him that he can’t use yet?

    Just remember that Estonia and Ukraine belong to HIM when he grows up. 🙂

    Now you’re even.

  3. Missy Toupal Hart permalink
    January 12, 2010 6:38 am

    The only one!

    Or at least the only one to confess it on a blog for all to see. I used to blog about Jax, but I got lazy and stopped. Therefore, since I don’t have a blog, I can’t confess anything.

Leave a Reply

