Skip to content

Book 5 of 80

January 11, 2010

It seems so fitting to travel to Sweden next. In the last book, the characters smuggle people out of Nazi occupied Norway into Sweden and there is this touching moment between the father and son that takes place on a trip into Sweden.

So, Sweden. I’m not going to post a You Tube clip of ABBA…but I will offer up this small tid-bit: The movie “Mama Mia” is not a good choice to watch while you are in labor. We had it on in the earlier stages  — a nurse brought it in for us to borrow because she felt bad that we had some trouble with taking blood…the tube fell out after my vein collapsed and sprayed blood all over the room — but as I got to be in more pain I wanted to physically tear the TV off of the wall and crush those women’s heads. Has there ever been a movie with more unnecessary squealing?

Anyway, the book I am going to read for here is The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson.

This book is wildly popular. I’m excited to read a mystery that will be solved! (Oh please…someone tell me this mystery actually gets solved…)

In full-disclosure, I started reading this book back in December and then accidentally left it at school over the break. I haven’t touched it since then, but I am about 1/3 of the way through already.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    January 11, 2010 10:22 pm

    No worries, the mystery gets solved. You may want to jump right into the second one when you finish it, though. I haven’t read the second one yet. Is the third one even out yet in the States? B&N picked this book for their B&N Recommends program, the criteria for which is that the book has to be “unputdownable.” I am not sure I would go that far (you don’t seem sad that you left it at school for a few weeks) but it was definitely better than the Chris Bohjalian book they picked that made me feel like I’d been ripped off when I finished it. So I don’t recommend you read “The Double Bind” for the New England region of your trip.

Leave a Reply

