Skip to content

I did it!!

January 9, 2010
tags: ,

Julie, me, and the overdue books...

Well, I returned the books.

It was a busy day at the West Linn Library, but I braved the crowds, groveled, and cut those atrocious fees down to a mere $18.05. Since it’s under $25, my account is no longer blocked! I’m free to use the library. How liberating.

The librarian who so kindly took my books back is Julie Blake. I went to high school with her daughter. She recognized Matt and Elliott from story-time. I think her exact words were, “Well, only since you’re Elliott’s mom.”

I made her take a picture with me. I laughed a lot. And then some rude woman told me to be quiet.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    January 10, 2010 9:26 am

    Redemption! I can relate. I once had forgotten about a movie I had rented from Blockbuster, it sat so comfortably with my movies I completely overlooked it – I think I had it for a month or two. I did return it but I was too nervous about the fine to ever rent from them again… until last winter with the big Christmas snow storm and we really needed something new to watch. I thought it would be safe, though, since I have changed my name since “the incident” – they didn’t find me out.

Leave a Reply

