Skip to content

Book 4 of 80

January 7, 2010

I thought I would be all cute and creative and start this blog with “funny facts about Norway” — our next destination. I googled “Funny Norway Facts”. Here is what I got — a blog (actually called funnynorwayfacts.blogspot.com) which has little funny facts like this: “Infrastructure projects have not been given the go-ahead because the Government believes that it could ‘damage the economy’ by pushing interest rates up.” Um. I think Norwegians and I have a different definition of “funny”.

The blog also told me that the people of Norway love frozen pizza and that it’s not rude to bump into someone and not apologize. But I suppose the best thing I was reminded of is that A-Ha is from Norway. And if you don’t know who A-Ha is then I am going to shake my head and call it a night. BUT if you DO and you want to laugh, please watch this the following clip. It really is one of my favorite things in the world:

Okay. Right. The book! We’re going to head off to and read Per Petterson’s Out Stealing Horses. It seems that a lot of people love this book, but the naysayers mention that it’s hard to get through and the plot (I don’t believe it’s linear) is occasionally hard to follow. However, I’m excited for it. Here is the Bookmarks Magazine summary (Stolen off the Amazon site…do I get in trouble for that Jessica? Hmmm…): “Per Petterson’s tale of love, forgiveness, and the nature of evil has already swept up four prestigious literary awards: two notable prizes in Norway, the Independent (UK) Foreign Fiction Prize, and the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. This perceptive, poignant novel blends the exhilaration of youth and the impassive recollections of old age with subtle plotting and biting observations on the question of fate versus free will….Petterson’s unforgettable portrait of a man trying to come to terms with his past will linger long after the last page.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    January 8, 2010 8:17 pm

    IDK, fair use? And you did cite your source… I think I QA-ed this book for Kindle, but I can’t really remember. After awhile, they all start to blend together.

    Also, “Take On Me”? Best. Ringtone. Ever.

Leave a Reply

