Skip to content

Book 3 Completed

January 7, 2010

“You’re far prettier than any girl who’s so intelligent has a right to be!” 

Ha! Doesn’t that line just make you laugh?

Well, I have finished I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith. Look, I was prepared to be bored with this coming-of-age tale. The sprawling British countryside, a quippy and precocious narrator (didn’t I just read a book JUST like this?). So, I read the first few pages with this glaze of disinterest. Until I realize that they are living at this castle, impoverished belong belief, because their father went to jail for threatening a neighbor with a cake-knife. (A misunderstanding. Of course. But isn’t that rich?) What I realized very quickly is that Smith purposefully set up the first part of this book to echo the sentiments of Austen or a Bronte and then…just when you thought you knew where the whole thing was headed…reminds you that we are indeed in the modern era and affairs of the heart are rarely uncomplicated. It is IMPOSSIBLE to read this book without thinking of Austen. Yet, I found the characters more charismatic, charming, and more fully realized than anyone I’ve read in a long time.

Here’s the thing too about the three love interests (yeah, three, but…you know…it’s that kind of book): I love ALL OF THEM. Stephen’s sexiness, Neil’s brazen personality, Simon’s sweetness?  I’m madly in love.

4/5: Really liked it!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    January 7, 2010 9:36 pm

    Well, now I know what book to read next. Did tell you I just read Pride and Prejudice a couple weeks ago. I’m still in that mood. I just need to get through the book I’m currently reading first.

  2. Sherry permalink
    January 9, 2010 3:44 pm

    I’ll definitely be adding this to my wishlist after reading your blog.

  3. Toni permalink
    January 12, 2010 8:59 am

    I saw the movie of this book, not realizing it was a book. Don’t know how close it is to the book, but it was gorgeously filmed. You truly felt the dampness of the castle. Plus, I’m a big Bill Nighy fan, so it was fun to see him take on a role very different than ones he usually plays.

Leave a Reply

