Skip to content

Fun at Barnes & Noble…

January 5, 2010

I realize I said in one of my very first posts that I wouldn’t spend money at B&N since I live so close to Powell’s. Oh, bibliophiles of the world…Oregon is worth a visit JUST for this fantastic book store. Powell’s is my love. But above all, I’m kinda lazy when it comes to driving downtown. And I HATE parking in Northwest. And it doesn’t accomodate strollers. Elliott was a much better book-shopper when he fit snugly in the baby-bjorn.

So, on these awful days, when Matt is working until late, and I’m at home, I just itch to GO somewhere. When I was in my sewing obsession a few months back, I would pack Elliott up and cart him around the three different fabric stores near my house. There was this tall young early-twenties-something who worked at Joann’s, and kinda reminded me of the sardonic intern on Parks and Rec; she said once, “So…making a lot of things for people for the holidays?” after I had seen her three times in three days.

That’s when you know your life isn’t going anywhere fast. When the girl a decade younger than you at a Joann’s Fabric in the Milwaukie Marketplace strip mall asks you how the burlap is working and if you knew that they were having a sale on taffeta.

So, the Barnes and Noble.

Two things:

1. I bought a map. I intend to use this map to plot my journey. I realized today that I needed to know where I was headed in advance…because I am GOING TO TRY to travel in a direct route (instead of the hopping all around option). Which means that some thought must go into this. While I was looking at the Maps of the World and deciding on which one to buy, I forgot to pay attention to what Elliott could grab. When I looked down, I noticed that Elliott have shoved a map of Massachusetts into his mouth and was happily trying to eat his way through Cape Cod. I did the respectable thing and pulled it out of his mouth, pieced back together the Atlantic Ocean, and tucked it back on the map rack.

2. I’ve never been so excited to pull a book off the shelf that sounds interesting and then realize it was written somewhere unique to the literary world.

Here is a conversation with Matt –

Me: Hey! Sorry to bother you at work. I found a Turkey and a Kiribati. A KIRIBATI!!

Matt: Sorry. What? A real Turkey? Where are you?

Me: I’m at the mall. And I’m pulling down books at random and seeing where they are set.

Matt: You are ridiculous.

Me: Wait…hold on…Elliott…don’t eat the Satanic Verses baby boy…okay. (Baby screaming.) Right. I should go. Just…isn’t that exciting?

Matt: Yes, this is very cool. Just…don’t spend any money.

Me: But I at least need to buy Spain tonight…it looks sooooo good….

Matt: Shelbi. Spain is your last European country. You don’t need Spain. Put Spain down. Put it down and walk away from Spain.

*sigh*

It’s gonna be a long year…can I borrow someone’s library card?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    January 5, 2010 7:53 pm

    As a former B&N employee and a current Amazon.com employee who points out typos for a living, I have to say: BARNES & NOBLE, BARNES & NOBLE, BARNES & NOBLE, BARNES & NOBLE!

    Also, you don’t have a library card? For shame, Shelbi. And PS, your baby is not the only one destroying maps at B&N stores. That always drove me nuts.

  2. Missy Toupal Hart permalink
    January 7, 2010 8:30 am

    You do realize that it is still spelled wrong? Middle of your entry when you start talking about maps.

  3. Carrie permalink
    January 7, 2010 6:23 pm

    Wait, no library card? Really? Here, let me introduce you: http://www.milwaukie.lib.or.us/
    I’m taking Matt’s side on this one, sorry.

Leave a Reply

