Skip to content

Book 3 of 80

January 5, 2010

The UK is the next stop in this literary race around the world.

After debating about Nick Hornby books I have yet to read or something good and cheeky like one of the Jasper Fforde novels, I settled in on “I Capture the Castle” by Dodie Smith. My mother-in-law gave me this book before I married her son — she promised me I would love it; I took the book on two vacations and never even read the first page. But as I looked at my own personal library tonight for my UK book, I thought, “Okay. Skip the rest. This is what you want.”

I Capture the Castle

I went from light and airy with Geurnsey to dark and gritty with In the Woods…from reading the reviews, this is probably something inbetween. People love this book and I’m determined to find out why. 

Let’s see how much reading I can get done now that Matt and I are back to our sucky “never-see-each-other-single-parent” schedule. I’m even typing up this blog entry at the expense of an angry Elliott who just threw a shoe at me from the play-pen. I saw the thinking happening…he was holding his new favorite toy and put that down, picked up the shoe. Smart little…oh wait, nevermind…he just poked himself in the eye with his toe.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill Sherman permalink
    January 5, 2010 12:54 am

    I will be interested to hear how you like I Capture the Castle. Your mentioning it makes me want to reread it. Maybe next book. I am loving reading your posts – great fun and great writing.

  2. McFaul permalink
    January 5, 2010 1:03 am

    For more U.K. fun:
    Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging (Georgia Nicholson is HILAROUS!!)by Louise Rennison–if you want to pee yourself laughing!!!!!

Leave a Reply

