Skip to content

Book one completed!

January 3, 2010

I finished book one of my journey ON January 1st. Not as impressive since I’m still on break.

So, I finished The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. I’m a hard sell for a book like this; when people toss around words like “charming” and “good-hearted” and “cute” to describe a book about the nazi occupation of the Channel Islands, I’m skeptical. Nazis. People’s children were shipped away from them. Concentration camps? And yet, amidst all this gritty war stuff is a very fluffy love story told through letters. Someone who wrote a review of this said it seemed like “World War 2 lite” and I happen to agree.

I was not moved by this book – the obvious romance, the lovable and eccentric characters of Guernsey. But I did enjoy the way the story came together, I admire the experimental style. It’s hard (much harder than one would imagine) to write a book through letters — you lose so much when you are forced to write in this fashion. There were some characters who had a very distinct voice and others that just kinda blended in with everyone else. Honestly, I don’t know (without overuse of colloquial language) how you differentiate fully. So, I’m impressed at what the author(s) could accomplish.

I can tell that it was a labor of love and that the author, who passed away before this book became successful, and I respect the book she created. 

3/5 stars: Liked it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    January 5, 2010 2:59 am

    Okay, so I gave it 4/5, but I’m sure I’m much less critical due to my lack in literary education. Congratulations on finishing the first book.

Leave a Reply

