Skip to content

The Rules

January 1, 2010

I am graciously using some of the rules from the Next Best Book Club on goodreads.com for their Around the World in 80 books challenge. 

Here we go:

1. The object of my challenge is to read 80 books from 80 different countries/regions around the world. I am starting in Europe. Along the way, I need to make sure I hit everything inbetween — Africa, the Middle East, Asia, Oceania/Austrailia, North America, South America, The Caribbean.

2. I am choosing books that take place in a particular country. For example, if an author is American, but his/her book takes place mostly in Africa, then that can count as a book for my African leg.   If a book takes place in multiple countries, then I am choosing the country that it is primarily based in. It is also perfectly acceptable to count recognized nations and territories and islands. 

3. No repeating countries. With the exception of large countries — I will allow myself two books from different regions. (For example, USA – an east coast book and a west coast book.) But I will try to avoid that as much as possible. 

4. I will read region by region. And I’m going to try to move in a direct route to each region. (I was going to zig-zag…but I wanted to make it harder and more fun to plan.)

All right…it’s officially 2010. Let’s get reading!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    January 3, 2010 11:21 pm

    Shelbi – I love it. I’m going to check in often and after reading your reviews, I’ll then decide which books I will read this year. You’ll act as a library, right?
    -Carrie

  2. Missy Toupal Hart permalink
    January 5, 2010 1:02 am

    I think its cool that you picked such a unique challenge for the year. My son is already in the toddler stage, so I totally get not having the time to read. I’m hoping for a book a week this year. I’ll be following your progress and reading your reviews.

Leave a Reply

