Skip to content

Book 1 out of 80

January 1, 2010

 

Since it is officially January 1st, the challenge has started. 

I decided to start in Europe and work my way around the world that way.

BOOK ONE: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society by Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows.

Book one

It takes place in the Channel Islands (the Guernsey, of the title) and London. But I’m making a solid call here by  saying that MOST of it takes place in Guernsey — which is a fine place to start our trip. It also frees up England for another book…very calculating on my part.

My newly found book club might be reading this as our first book. They don’t know it yet, but I got the recipe for Potato Peel Pie and am totally going to make it for them on book club night (if this does end up being our final choice). It sounds gross. I might make it not so gross…which according to the recipe defeats the purpose since it’s supposed to be gross since they didn’t have anything fun like butter or salt during the occupation. I hate cheeky recipes. 

I bought my copy at Barnes and Nobel yesterday. I couldn’t find it. Not under “S” and not under “B”. I went back and forth four times, singing the alphabet song under my breath to make sure I was looking in the right place. Look, lugging a one year-old around in a stroller to find books is not fun. When I approached the lady at customer service she said, “Oh. That book. Yeah. We moved it from fiction down to our “best-sellers” area.” Fantastic. Move it OUT OF FICTION. I’m making a public apology to Powell’s Books. I’m sorry I cheated on you. I had gift cards. 

I’ll let you know when I finish it…

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 2:40 am

    Hey, I just joined a book club 2 months ago (my first…it was on my 100 dreams list) and this was our first book too! We had a “roast pig” and also really yummy sweet potatoes…not a pie but kind of like a pie. A fun book to start off the club!

Leave a Reply

